Friday, October 16, 2020

Hungry Senora

 This is my 4th-day fasting, and I am hungry.  I attribute this condition to the teaspoon of MCT oil I put in my coffee this morning.  My hunger pangs are strong.  They say MCT oil is supposed to keep you energized and hunger free..well..that is BS! I am freaking hungry, and I have a box of cheese balls and sour kids at my desk that I want to devour.  I bought them last night for my students, but I really want to dig and eat.  BUT I WON'T.  I'll take the hunger pangs and drown them in water and coffee until 3 p.m...4 more hours of drowning!!! 

Last night I had a great dinner, except for the bag of Puff Cheetos I ate.  Maybe that is what's causing my hunger now, now that I think about it.  I have no idea.  I really wanted those Cheetos. I can't say no to Cheetos and orange fingers.  I had an omelet with about a 1tbs of Creme Fraiche, then a slice of avocado,  pa amb tomàquet, which is bread with rubbed tomato on it and drizzled with EVOO.    I had to go to Target to buy some stuff, so I grabbed a bag of Cheetos and well..went for it.  I'm freaking human.  But now I'm probably paying for it.  

This morning was picture day at school, and I wasn't ready for this crap.  I'm even wearing a freaking sweatshirt that says NO PHOTOS PLEASE!!  Did not do it on purpose.  Everyone got a kick out of it, but I did not do this on purpose.  I forgot it was picture day, and I look like freaking crap.  Well, suffice to say that I had to take the stupid picture and well, the nice lady let me get a glance afterward and it did not look good.  I looked bloated.  You could have stuck me with a pin and I would have popped.  I don't know why I looked so bloated.  I've been drinking so much freaking water and peeing like crazy..stupid Cheetos. 




Thursday, October 15, 2020

Fasting Senora

 This is my third attempt to begin blogging my life.  The last attempt was back in 2011!.  Wow! 9 years have passed!!  Why have decided to do this? Well, it's another chapter in my life, now I'm 51!  Another reason is I started intermittent fasting, another of my ways to lose weight.  I  don't know I feel good about this one..but I did about my other attempts to lose weight, but I feel really good about this one, it's been a whole month of fasting..I don't know I just feel good.  

For a whole month, I did 16:8, which is 16 hours of fasting (while sleeping of course) and an 8-hour window for eating.  I did not follow any diet in specific, I just ate rather well, not too much of everything in my path. I managed to lose inches and a couple of pounds, not anything significant.  I got a little discouraged, to be honest.  I thought the weight loss was going to be massive since I thought I was doing a lot of food delays, more than ever!  So I wanted to step it up a notch and I am doing a 20 hour fast with a 4-hour window!!!


it better be great!, I'm not stepping on that scale for the first week, but will be next week..maybe.  They say to throw it away, but man I'm dying to step on that scale.  Anyway, my first day was pretty intense, I kept hitting on that salt, because you cannot have anything but plain black coffee and water if you want to do a clean fast, and achieve better results.    So I had my Himalayan salt, my two cups of coffee, and lots of water..my hunger pangs were pretty intense and ended up with a really bad headache, but I made it to 3p.m., and honestly, I was not even that hungry when the time came.  I think it was more the anticipation of the food and not having anything to eat.  I don't know, it was a weird feeling.  I think it was a feeling of dependence.  

The second day was a bit easier.  I kept thinking about how easy it was about not having to worry about food the entire day.  I did pack a small serving of oatmeal with blueberries, pieces of dates, flax seeds, and a half of a banana.  I mean, I need to break that fast with something healthy, and I'm still at work, so I did, and 3 p.m. came and I was calm, cool, and collected.  I was hungry, but not anxious about it.  I ate my oatmeal and was pretty satisfied with that.  I got home and made a pot roast in the Instapot with basmati rice and I ate normally, went to bed normally..well I had a bit of a headache, but I was fine. 

Day 3 - I have a more clear mind today.   I didn't think too much about food.  I tell you it has been much easier than the first two days.  I've only had one cup of coffee, no salt, but lots of water, and I feel good.  I'm a bit hungry right now, have like 30 more minutes to go, but I'm not dying.  Not even in a bad mood.  Because being hungry makes me HANGRY!   I'm starting to worry about the weekend, but I will cross that bridge when I get there.  I'm breaking my fast with raw veggies, hummus, flax cracker bits, and more water.